St. James's Episcopal Church https://doers.org Be Ye Doers of the Word and Not Hearers Only Tue, 22 Sep 2020 12:48:05 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.5.1 https://doers.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/cropped-St_Jamess_Seal_500x801_135x-32x32.png St. James's Episcopal Church https://doers.org 32 32 In-person Outdoor Worship at St. James’s https://doers.org/in-person-outdoor-worship-at-st-jamess/ Tue, 22 Sep 2020 12:48:05 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=41690

]]>
Hear own Fontaine Williamson and the Market at 25th’s Shaaron Atkins-Comfort, assistant store director, share their thoughts on the project. https://doers.org/hear-own-fontaine-williamson-and-the-market-at-25ths-shaaron-atkins-comfort-assistant-store-director-share-their-thoughts-on-the-project/ Fri, 11 Sep 2020 23:40:07 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=41164
]]>
A Casual Weekend Away at Shrine Mont https://doers.org/a-casual-weekend-away-at-shrine-mont/ Fri, 11 Sep 2020 23:36:30 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=41162 October 23-25, 2020

Though our annual parish retreat has sadly been canceled, you are invited to take advantage of our reserved rooms at Shrine Mont, our diocesan retreat center in the mountains. Come to the mountains October 23-25 for a weekend getaway with all the beauty of the great outdoors Shrine Mont can offer. The one time we will gather will be for worship in the Shrine, following necessary COVID precautions. To book your stay, please contact Shrine Mont’s office directly (reservations@shrinemont.com, 540-856-2141), telling them you’re with St. James’s. Go to https://shrinemont.com/covid-19/ and https://shrinemont.com/wp-content/uploads/COVID-Guidelines-with-meals.pdf for up to date COVID information.

Contact: Katie and Rob Reed, katiepreed@gmail.com or the Rev. Hilary Streever, hstreever@doers.org 

]]>
Wednesday Night Fellowship & Study https://doers.org/wednesday-night-fellowship-study/ Sat, 05 Sep 2020 01:26:29 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=41051 Servant Sunday – September 27th https://doers.org/servant-sunday-september-27th/ Sat, 05 Sep 2020 01:20:54 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=41048 St. Francis of Assisi https://doers.org/st-francis-of-assisi/ Fri, 04 Sep 2020 22:55:16 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=41040 Who was St. Francis of Assisi? 

Saint Francis of Assisi was a Catholic friar who gave up a life of wealth to live a life of poverty. He established the Franciscan Order of friars and the women’s Order of the Poor Ladies. He is known as the patron saint of animal and the natural environment, and it has become customary for churches to hold ceremonies blessing animals on or near his feast day of 4 October.

pastedGraphic.png
Saint Francis of Assisi by Jusepe de Ribera

As Francis lived his life of poverty and preached to people about the life of Jesus Christ, people began to follow him. He had one basic rule which was “To follow the teachings of our Lord Jesus Christ and to walk in his footsteps”.

Love for Nature
Francis was known for his love of nature and animals. There are many stories about Saint Francis and his preaching to animals. It is said that one day he was talking to some birds when they began to sing together. Then they flew into the sky and formed the sign of a cross.

St. Francis Prayer of Peace 

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace
Where there is hatred, let me sow love
Where there is injury, pardon
Where there is doubt, faith
Where there is despair, hope
Where there is darkness, light
And where there is sadness, joy

O Divine Master, grant that I may
Not so much seek to be consoled as to console
To be understood, as to understand
To be loved, as to love
For it is in giving that we receive
And it’s in pardoning that we are pardoned
And it’s in dying that we are born to Eternal Life

]]>
Rock Bottom – In Person, Outdoor Service https://doers.org/see-you-at-rock-bottom/ Tue, 01 Sep 2020 16:08:15 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=40987 10:00 A.M. Sunday Service https://doers.org/live/ Sun, 30 Aug 2020 01:45:35 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=40943 A Letter from Your Rector https://doers.org/a-letter-from-your-rector/ Sun, 30 Aug 2020 01:06:38 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=40941 Anastasia Redmond: Service and Missions Inspire her Future https://doers.org/anastasia-redmond/ Sat, 29 Aug 2020 00:12:05 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=40917 From the nursery on Franklin Street to mission friendships an ocean away, her church family has influenced her vision for her life path, and she is grateful for it. “St James’s has given me a whole part of my life that I wouldn’t have otherwise.”

]]>
Diocesan-Wide Labor Day Service https://doers.org/diocesan-wide-labor-day-service/ Sat, 29 Aug 2020 00:04:41 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=40915 On Sunday, September 6 (Labor Day Weekend), St. James’s will gather online, with the Diocese of Virginia, for a pre-recorded Morning Prayer Service led by our bishops. Bishop Goff will preach and Bishops Brooke-Davidson and Taylor will be there, too. This will be in lieu of our regularly recorded Sunday service. 

 

The Diocese wants to gather with you – and wants to give our priests and pastors a break. As you know so well, the clergy of our diocese have been working heroically since early March with online and outdoor worship, pastoral care, and formation, all in a strange new world of electronic connection. The Diocese honors their commitment and hopes that you will be as eager as the Diocese is to create a tiny sliver of real Sabbath time for our clergy.

 

The Diocese will broadcast the service, Sunday – September 6th, via the Episcopal Diocese of Virginia Facebook page at 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. and their YouTube page at 8:00 a.m. Please mark your calendars for this worship service with the 60,000+ members of the Diocese of Virginia, and many friends and families. Can’t wait to see you there!

]]>
Registration for Fall Children & Youth Ministry https://doers.org/registration-for-fall-children-youth-ministry/ Tue, 25 Aug 2020 13:10:56 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=40873 Mark Shuford share the full story here https://doers.org/mark-shuford-share-the-full-story-here/ Fri, 21 Aug 2020 23:34:24 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=40849

]]>
Our Position on Racial Justice https://doers.org/unity-diversity-among-the-body-of-christ/ Thu, 20 Aug 2020 14:15:22 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=40769 Town Hall August 20, Today at 11:30 a.m. https://doers.org/town-hall/ Wed, 19 Aug 2020 14:21:45 +0000 https://doers.org/?p=40590